The County Commission 2014 – A New Journey

I have spent a lot of time the past few months deliberating what my political future looks like since my seat on the SCS Board expires next year. After much thought as to what the best fit would be for my family and I, we have come to the conclusion that the Shelby County Commission would be the best place to serve. And in many ways, it is very timely.

The county commission will move to 13 single member districts in 2014. Today multiple members are elected from the same districts. This new map will substantially shrink the size of the districts making them much easier to represent. Also, all 13 seats will be up for election so there will be no incumbent based upon the current district. ( Trust me, I have experience with this when my seat was redrawn in 2012.)

So here are the who, what, when, where, and how:

1) Who will I be running against? I do not know at this point

2) What and Where will i be running? County Commission District 3 which is made up of Bartlett and Lake land almost exclusively.

3) When will he election be? This is a partisan race which means there will be a primary (in May 2014, if there is a challenger) that will decide who the Republican and Democrat nominees. The general election will be the August General County election in August 2014.

4) Why am I running? Fairly simple. Because i believe that  our county government has so much more potential that is being currently displayed. The animosity between our governments is putting Shelby County at a strategic disadvantage compared to our peers across the country. We have to get back to solutions to drive competition in our region. That begins with bold discussions regarding our business environment, our schools, and our core county services. The only tax rate I support is one that supports a core set of strategic goals and objectives. And today, that tax rate is too high

I will run hard. I will run clean. I will run based upon the issues.

Finally, I would like to say that  4 years of working with a board of 23 and a 1.3 billion dollar budget has prepared me for this next step. I look forward to the race. I look forward to continuing to serve many of you. This position is important and as we get more into the campaign swing I will work to educate you on what this group does(other than suing its own people).

Thanks to you all for your support. I look forward to serving each and every one of you. If you would like to serve on my campaign team, please feel free to message me.

Copy of the county commission map: cc map

Leave a Reply

